In the mid-1940s, a renowned Norwegian ski jumper and retired sea captain, Kjell "Rusty" Rustad purchased 74 acres in a small valley just above Lake Tahoe, California. In 1947, Rusty opened his new resort, "Granlibakken," named in honor of an area in Norway where he skied as a boy. Granlibakken meant "a hill sheltered by fir trees" in his native tongue. Granlibakken's ski hill quickly became a popular destination for both tourists and locals - the valley's bountiful snowpack provided alpine skiing from early fall to late spring. During the 1950s the hill flourished, hosting the 1952 Junior Olympics among other events. Granlibakken continued on more or less the same, until 1978, when the resort was purchased by Bill and Norma Parson. Although they stayed true to Rusty's original vision, the Parsons also saw the potential of this small ski resort. They combined Granlibakken's breathtaking surroundings with exemplary service and welcoming accommodations to create a unique atmosphere of inspiration and relaxation for everyone.